General aspects

The plot focus of the novel Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen is marriage and how it influenced the gentry middle and upper class in her time. The plot structure of the novel fits the classical plot structure (exposition, rising action, climax, falling action, and resolution), but it can also be analysed using other plot structures, dividing the story into three parts, each with its own plot line. In the latter interpretation, one plot focuses on Jane and Bingley, another on Lydia and Wickham, and the third (the main plot) involves Elizabeth and Darcy.

In what follows, we will give you the most important plot elements of the novel according to the classical plot structure.


The title reflects one of the main themes of this novel. Initially, Austen wanted to title the novel First Impressions, because Darcy and Elizabeth misunderstand each other at first and form prejudiced ideas about each other. Their first impressions of each other change as the events of the plot unfold, and both begin to respect and eventually love each other.

However, Austen eventually settled on the title Pride and Prejudice, which is symbolic for some of the most dominant themes and attitudes in the plot. Most of the characters are proud or prejudiced at given points in the novel. For example, the Bennets and their acquaintances become prejudiced against Darcy because of Wickham’s story about his alleged cruel mistreatment. Similarly, the Bingley sisters are prejudiced against the Bennets because of the inferiority of their social and economic status.

The first definition of pride is pedantically offered by Mar...

Teksten som vises ovenfor er bare et utdrag. Kun medlemmer kan se hele innholdet.

Få tilgang til hele nettboken.

Som medlem av får du tilgang til alt innholdet.

Kjøp medlemskap nå

Allerede medlem? Logg inn